NTOA Forums Strategic Leadership General Leadership Do You Have to hold a Title to Take a Leadership Position?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive
      mmWayne Griffin
      Participant

I firmly believe that you do not have to hold a title to be in leadership role. I personally have taken a leadership role where I was a junior officer to my subordinates, and I had no issues. Some guys just have natural leadership skills, and people want to follow them no matter of rank, age, seniority, etc…

Anthony Kies
      Participant

The short answer to this question is no. There are several employee’s within our agency who are great leaders. Our Multi-jurisdiction Team has several team leaders who are not ranking officers. As I described my leadership values earlier in discussion this still stands the same. One who can be credible and ethical will make a great leader. There are several attributes that come with being a great leader, but in my opinion it takes some time and classes to learn how to be a great leader. To be a supervisor to be is simple compared to being a leader.

Jeffrey Brown
      Participant

I don’t believe you need to hold a title to take a leadership position. Leaders will rise due to training, experience, natural ability, or because people want to follow them. The best leaders are not necessarily the ones that hold titles. It is not uncommon for rank to be trumped by position in our world. On my team, rank and position are two different animals. We use rank as a courtesy when addressing our operators, but that does not necessarily mean their rank has any bearing on who is making command decisions. Key leaders are placed in their positions because they have demonstrated the ability to lead men and make decisions. We have found that rank does not universally make one a good leader for our purposes, or even a good leader at all.

mmJacob Taylor
      Participant